Prism

her heart is tired 

her resilience feels dead

her desire is the end 

there’s no love 

he didn’t choose Above

stop pressing resend

there’s no redo 

he can’t be true 

her suspense makes no sense 

God is a prism 

the world is a schism

God is unity

the world is an isolated scrutiny 

God is our link

the world is a seductive sink

the world displays weary winks

God is our fiduciary trust 

the world is just a broken combust 

her choice is the call

he created a wall

he can’t get it to just fall

her obey was all

he made her feel like a shrivel ball

like a baby

her replay was crazy

he chose lazy

he drank cheap lemonade 

her choice is to be His renegade 

her hallow swallow was the cost

in her felt so lost 

easy fixes turn to diluted mixes

like kool-aid 

Jesus said no

he chose go

he wasn’t slow

he didn’t pause

no discern, ’cause

he rode the wave 

right into that suffocating cave 

all he wanted was kool-aid

her want was him to be made

into the son He sees

her want was him to be free

what he’s meant to be

regardless what her eyes see

her shifting is her focus 

because he chose locus 

God is a prism 

the world is a schism

God is unity

the world is an isolated scrutiny 

God is our link

the world is a seductive sink

the world displays weary winks

God is our fiduciary trust 

the world is just a broken combust 

like the world, he fed fading lust

creating ashes to ashes 

made from dust to dust 

love is the action 

she fought to be

he chose to not see 

his “I got this” was a reaction

he didn’t chose His prism

what he got: unsatisfied eroticism

her eyes see no fill

her eyes see no thrill 

he looks like in need of new gills

her grace feels abused

he looks lost and confused 

Jesus didn’t drink kool-aid 

Jesus choose to be His renegade

Jesus is her reason 

the survival of this season

Jesus says there’s gain

in her paralyzing pain

O’ Lord this is all in vain 

sons fighting to be in integrity

shot in cold blooded murder

now a distant memory

children lost their dad

no one is glad

the world is sad

blue heroes also gone

such agony in this recurring song

now the world is mad

O’Lord this pain

what’s the point in choosing love

everyone is ignoring His godly dove 

her heart swears

that no one cares

her reality are facades

he chose a mirage 

he chose to sabotage 

her heart is tired 

her resilience feels dead

her desire is the end 

but You make all things new

thank you King, You are true

her choice is obey 

her okay in all that You say 

For You are her prism 

she says no to worldly schism

Poet’s note: It feels like I’m on a whirlwind, and it’s getting more intense. Those senseless deaths, from Alton Sterling, Philando Castile, and our fallen cops, just broke me. I’m still shell shocked honestly. I’m so discouraged. But I had no time to recover, because I’m in grad school. My silver lining is my deep love of education. I’ve loved education since I was a child. I used to make all my stuffed animals my students. I always knew I was called to be a teacher, but growing up, seeing no love, just jaded me from stepping into the role. Even after God entered His vessel, who prophesied over my life at 17, I ignored the call for 16 years. I literally worked in every legal industry on this planet. I made money, and lost money so frequently, that money never fazed me. In fact, money deeply bothers me. I grew up seeing what it did to my family. Not much changed, now that I’m an adult. The world just projects lots of the ugly I grew up seeing. It hurts seeing all of this. I’m so tired. I just want rapture already. I’m so over choosing love, because it so feels like it’s all in vain. Keeping it popular, not keeping it real is just the choice that I refuse to make. I refuse to make my wine kool-aid. Thank God my beautiful King, is my heartbeat and my Keeper. Thank God that my beautiful King, surrounds me with exactly who I need. Thank you for all, that you trust me with God. I choose You no matter what. Your will, not my own. Blessings my fellow chosen. 

2 thoughts on “Prism

  1. Yes!! My sister speak life and burst my heart with your #poetryslam. It just keeps getting better and better!! Wow!! What you’re about to do the world has no clue, but God has been preparing you and it’s going to be showtime soon!! So happy for you my love!! Love you!! Xoxoxo
    #barsonbars #micdrop #poetscorner

Leave a Reply

